Romania's Halep vying with Garcia and Wozniacki for September's WTA player of the month

 •  English

Romanian Simona Halep, Caroline Garcia (France) and Caroline Wozniacki (Denmark) are the nominees for September's WTA player of the month, according to the WTA site survey.

Simona Halep was crowned the new world leader, after a memorable week where she made it to the Beijing Open final after defeating Russian Maria Sharapova (her first victory after seven consecutive defeats in the head-to-head count), Russia's Daria Kasatkina (taking revenge for being early ousted from the Wuhan Open) and Jelena Ostapenko of Latvia. This latter match had a double significance, because besides turning tables after the Roland Garros final, this win earned Halep the leading position in the WTA rankings, as the 25th player in history to reach this position.

Although she lost the final to Garcia, Halep also took the lead on the Porsche Race to Singapore leaderboard.

Danish player Caroline Wozniacki, who has steadily won at least one title every year since 2008, further rode the victory streak, as she won the Toray Pan Pacific Open in Tokyo, where she defeated then world leader Garbine Muguruza of Spain and Russian Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova. Wozniacki has reached 26 career titles and secured the berth for her fifth BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore.

Caroline Garcia has managed a remarkable series of 11 consecutive wins, claiming the Wuhan and Beijing titles. At Wuhan, the French player defeated Angelique Kerber of Germany, a former world leader, and Dominika Cibulkova of Slovakia — reigning WTA Finals champion.

Fighting to qualify for Singapore, Garcia defeated Elina Svitolina of Ukraine in the quarterfinals in Beijing, after saving a match point, went past Petra Kvitova in the semifinal and defeated fresh world No. 1 Simona Halep in the final.

This series of successes brought the French player in the top 10 WTA rankings, but also eighth in the Porsche Race to Singapore leaderboard.

The three proposals can be voted on the WTA website by Thursday, and the results will be published on Friday.

The previous winners of the title in 2017 were Serena Williams (January), Elina Svitolina (February), Elena Vesnina (March), Laura Siegemund (April), Simona Halep (May), Garbine Muguruza (June), Madison Keys (July) and Sloane Stephens (August). AGERPRES (RO — author: Mihai Tenea, editor: Vlad Constantinescu; EN — author: Simona Klodnischi, editor: Adina Panaitescu)

The content of the website has the exclusive purpose of public informing.
All the information published on this website by AGERPRES is protected by relevant legal dispositions.
It is forbidden to copy, reproduce, recompile, decompile, distribute, publish, display, modify, create derived components or products or full services, as well as any exploitation of the site's content.
Details in the section Terms of Use. If you are interested in picking up AGERPRES news items, please contact the Marketing Department –

The use of the Comments section entails your obligation to respect the AGERPRES terms and conditions in regards to the publishing of comments on the

Leave a comment